American Public Power Association Appoints Decosta Jenkins to Board of Directors

Nashville Electric Service (NES) President and CEO Decosta Jenkins has been appointed to the American Public Power Association’s (APPA) board of directors.

Jenkins, who will serve as the Association’s chair-elect from 2018 to 2019, currently oversees the Customer Planning Council for the Tennessee Valley Public Power Association (TVPPA) and Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA). Previously, Jenkins served as TVPPA vice chairman from 2009 to 2011.

After joining NES in 1991 as vice president of finance, Jenkins was promoted to senior vice president and chief financial officer where he served until 2004. With more than a decade of leadership experience, Jenkins is responsible for the day-to-day operations of Tennessee’s largest public utility – one of the 12 largest in the nation.

Jenkins will join Coleman Smoak of Piedmont Municipal Power Agency, Jolene Thompson of American Municipal Power and the Ohio Municipal Electric Association, Walter Hasse of Navajo Tribal Utility Authority, and Layne Burningham of Utah Municipal Power Agency as APPA’s 2018-2019 officers.

The APPA Executive Committee will feature 21 board members, including Jenkins, carefully selected to represent 10 regions across the country over a three-year term.